December 9, 2020

I started reading the friendly orange glow and after just one page of the introduction I had to put it down.

My mind wandered back to HyperCard on the Mac Plus and to Netscape Navigator on ISDN. Where has the excitement gone? The wonder, the exploration, the adventure? When did computing become a hygiene factor, a task, an information firehose I have to deal with? And more importantly: how do I get back to Wonderland?

In 2011 I started carrying a sketchbook again. Inspired by an illustrated life I got a watercolor sketchbook and a starter kit of watercolors and never looked back.

So many endless hours just exploring and experimenting. The real breakthrough was allowing myself to draw shitty things. I stopped being even interested how the result turned out. The only important thing was: did I have a good time while soing the drawing?

Maybe that is where I need to take computing to again. Randomly explore the utmost different things, from Urbit to terminal-based email. To just wander around, get lost, get on another track. Look back on a life of experience and love and wonder.

Fuck achievements.


Previous post
LOLBLOG A „blog“ in 2020 feels like recording on dat tapes. People have flocked from their blogs to Medium and now flock back to Email. Well, no, to
Next post
Dear kids. It is fun to write again, „in public“, like muttering to myself in the woods at night. There is something different about talking out