December 10, 2020

Dear kids.

It is fun to write again, in public“, like muttering to myself in the woods at night. There is something different about talking out loud, about writing into a website instead of just a notebook. How am I supposed to know what I think before I hear what I say?“, said by Dieter Hildebrand in some random episode of Scheibenwischer I used to watch with my parents as a kid.

Important though: never write (or talk) about what you‘re going to do. It takes away the magic. It‘s like letting the hot air out of the ballon before you took a flight with it.

Why is that? I don‘t really know. I‘ve just found it to be true over and over and over again.

One part is definitely that it builds up expectations. And as soon as that happens the journey becomes about arriving — which is so boring I would need to sit down right now if I wasn‘t already lying on a couch.


#dearkids


Previous post
I started reading the friendly orange glow and after just one page of the introduction I had to put it down. My mind wandered back to HyperCard on
Next post
Dear kids. One thing I recently picked up (but forgot where) goes roughly like this: Pareto posed the 80/20 rule as we know it, because it is